National Geographic
Menu

Bioneers Seek, Share Solutions Inspired by Nature

Over the next three days, catch 2010 Bioneers Conference highlights streamed live here on Nat Geo News Watch.
By Ford Cochran

Kenny Ausubel coined the term “Bioneers” two decades ago to describe social and scientific innovators whose solutions to human problems derive from nature and natural systems. Ausubel’s vision became the nonprofit Bioneers, which promotes big ideas through a radio series, books, videos, online–and at an annual conference.

If you’re fortunate to be near San Francisco or one of 20 live broadcast sites in the U.S., Canada, or Scotland over the next few days, you can participate in the 2010 Bioneers Conference in person. If not, no worries: National Geographic is streaming live highlights of the program right here on NG News Watch.

Jim Hansen, climate scientist, Human-Made Climate Change: A Moral, Political and Legal Issue

  • Friday, October 15, 3:30 p.m. EDT/12:30 p.m. PDT–Gary Hirshberg, Stonyfield Farms CEO, Win7 Economics: Restoring Natural Order as if People and the Planet Really Mattered
  • Friday, October 15, 5:00-7:00 p.m. EDT, 2:00-4:00 p.m. PDT–Backstage@Bioneers, interviews and footage from the Bioneers community
  • Saturday, October 16, 12:30 p.m. EDT/9:30 a.m. PDT–Elizabeth K. Lindsey, filmmaker, anthropologist, and National Geographic Fellow, Navigating an Ancient Future: The Compass of Traditional Ecological Knowledge
  • Saturday, October 16, 1:30 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m. PDT–Peter Warshall, Co-Director of Dreaming New Mexico, Dreaming New Mexico: An Age of Local Foodsheds and a Fair Trade State
  • Saturday, October 16, 5:00-7:00 p.m. EDT, 2:00-4:00 p.m. PDT– Backstage@Bioneers, interviews and footage from the Bioneers community
  • Sunday, October 17, 1:00 p.m. EDT/10:00 a.m. PDT–john a. powell, Executive Director of the Kirwin Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity at Ohio State University, Dance Like You Matter in an Intra-Related World
  • Sunday, October 17, 1:30 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m. PDT–Gloria Feldt, women’s activist, speaker, writer, and commentator, Riding the Leadership Wave: Women Embracing Controversy
  • Sunday, October 17, 5:00-7:00 p.m. EDT, 2:00-4:00 p.m. PDT– Backstage@Bioneers, interviews and footage from the Bioneers community
  • Bookmark this post and return over the next three days to watch any of these presentations via the video player above.

    Explore highlights from prior Bioneers events on the Bioneers YouTube channel.
    Bioneers_logo.jpg

    Ford-Cochran.jpgFord Cochran directs Mission Programs online for National Geographic. He has written for National Geographic magazine and NG Books, and edits BlogWild–a digest of Society exploration, research, and events–and the Ocean Now blog. Ford studied English literature at the College of William and Mary and biogeochemistry at Harvard and Yale, with a focus on volcanoes, forests, and long-term controls on atmospheric CO2. He was an assistant professor of geology and environmental science at the University of Kentucky before joining the National Geographic staff.
     

    More posts by Ford Cochran

    Join Nat Geo News Watch community

    Readers are encouraged to comment on this and other posts–and to share similar stories, photos and links–on the Nat Geo News Watch Facebook page. You must sign up to be a member of Facebook and a fan of the blog page to do this.

    Leave a comment on this page

    You may also email David Braun (dbraun@ngs.org) if you have a comment that you would like to be considered for adding to this page. You are welcome to comment anonymously under a pseudonym

    This entry was posted in Environment, Science and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.